> Tourist Visits and Tours

Tourist Visits
and Tours

A number of tourist visits and tours are programmed during the course of the congress. These range from half-day visits of attractions in Toulouse, to two-day tours of the region. It is now possible to register online for the visits.

Download the Tourist visit form.doc

Download the Tourist visit form.pdf

As well as these organised visits, we provide information about Toulouse and its region.


Half day visits

  • Walk in Toulouse's historic heart and Bemberg Foundation
  • Walk in Toulouse's historic heart and Augustins Museum
  • The Cité de l'espace
  • Victor Hugo market

One day tours

  • Pic du Midi and Lourdes
  • Albi and Cordes sur Ciel
  • Carcassonne and Limoux

Two-days-one night tours

  • Conques and The Millau viaduct
  • The Lot countryside
  • Bordeaux and its vineyards


Monday 23 August morning
Walk in Toulouse's historic heart and Bemberg Foundation

The Capitole

Created in the 19th century, the Place du Capitole is the largest square of the city and the focal point for many public events in Toulouse. Cafés and restaurants line three sides of the square. The magnificent Capitole, whose neo-classical façade dates back to the middle of the 18th century, occupies the fourth side.
The present building, which houses the City Hall and a theatre in Italian style is a mix of styles dating from the 16 th century to the 19 th century.

The Basilique Saint-Sernin

As a city with an important medieval history, Toulouse has a number of religious architectural gems that should not be missed. Among them, the Saint-Sernin basilica, started in 1080 and finally completed in the 14 th century is a great romanesque church on the pilgrims' way to Santiago de Compostela. From outside, the five semi-circular, Byzantine-influenced radiating chapels in contrasting colours of brick and stone are typical of Romanesque art in the South of France. Inside, Saint-Sernin hosts remarkable frescoes and relics.


The Jacobins Dominican church and cloister

The Dominican order was founded in Toulouse in 1215. Construction of the church and monastery, which included the first University in Toulouse, started in 1230. Only the doorway of the Western façade remains of this first Romanesque building. Completed around 1340, the church is a masterpiece of Southern Gothic. Entering the church, the visitor is struck by the boldness of the 7 columns that spread into ribs comparable to the leaves of a palm tree. The cloister is a haven of peace right in the city centre.


The Hôtel de Bernuy

There are many hôtels particuliers (private town houses) in Toulouse, that date back to Toulouse's Golden Age, during which the cultivation and exploitation of woad brought richness and allowed tradesmen to build luxurious houses in the new Renaissance style. Jean de Bernuy made his fortune trading woad and built his hotel, which is a pure expression of the Toulouse Renaissance style, influenced by Italy and the Loire châteaux . The high hexagonal tower indicates the level of his power and recognition in the city.


The Hôtel d'Assézat and the Bemberg foundation

Built in the mid-16 th century for another woad merchant, Pierre d'Assézat, the hôtel Hôtel d'Assézat is one of the great Toulouse hôtels, whose proportions, courtyard and perfect façades make it a chef-d'ouvre of the Toulouse Renaissance style. It houses a rich collection, open to the public, of paintings belonging to the Bemberg Foundation. The visitor can discover a major group of works from the Renaissance and the 17 th and 18 th centuries, where the main European schools are represented, and a very inspired collection of paintings from the modern French schools, Monet, Degas, Dufy and numerous Bonnard.

Tuesday 24 August afternoon
Walk in Toulouse's historic heart and Augustins Museum

This walk proposes the same itinerary as that on Monday 23, with a commented tour of the Augustins Museum, instead of the Bemberg Foundation. This municipal fine arts museum is housed in a former Augustinian monastery begun in 1309. The museum is best known for its outstanding collection of Romanesque sculpture, taken from the cloisters and chapter-houses destroyed during the last century. The first floor of the museum is dedicated to painting from the 17 th to the 19 th centuries, including works from Delacroix, Ingres and Toulouse-Lautrec.

Wednesday 25 August afternoon

The Cité de l'Espace

Penetrate the secrets and mysteries of space, explore the stars, find out how to recognise the planets of the solar system, pilot a Soyuz capsule or travel among the stars in the planetarium. Sitting comfortably in your seat, you will plunge into the heart of the starry dome and leave for the third dimension. Wander among a variety of exhibits about the human adventure in space and visit the launch pad of the Ariane rocket!

The Cité de l'Espace

Thursday 26 August morning

Victor Hugo market

The Victor Hugo market is the main covered market of the centre of Toulouse. It houses about 100 booths. Wine merchants, pork butchers, goose and duck producers, cheese makers and green grocers are open even on Sunday. On the first floor, small restaurants serve meals cooked with products from the market. Xavier takes care of about 10 000 cheeses that ripen in his cellars. After the visit of the market, you will have the opportunity to taste in Xavier's cellars some of his production that he serves in the reputed restaurants in the region.


Sunday 22 August

Pic du Midi and Lourdes

Pic du Midi

Adventure and discovery begin in the cable car that transports visitors from La Mongie (alt. 1800m.), via Le Taoulet (alt. 2341m) to the summit of the Pic (alt. 2877m) within 15 minutes.
The landscape is unique and grandiose. A 360° panorama offers visitors views of the Pyrenees mountains and the Great South plains.
The Pic du Midi has been dedicated to exploring the universe since 1880 and continues to be an observation and research centre.



In 1858, Virgin Mary appeared to Bernadette Soubirous in the Grotto of Massabielle. Today, 6 million visitors come to Lourdes each year for pilgrimages or cures among which hundreds have been considered as miraculous by the Catholic Church.

Friday 27 August

Albi and Cordes-sur-Ciel


Built in pink brick on the Tarn river, Albi is the birthplace of the artist Toulouse-Lautrec (1864-1901). A museum is dedicated to this painter in the Bishop's Palace (13-18C) and contains more than two hundred of his works.
A visit to the city's Cathedrale Sainte-Cécile is a must because of the contrast between its imposing fortress-like architecture and the decorative interior.

Cordes sur Ciel

Founded in 1222 by the Count of Toulouse, Cordes is the first and most important «bastide», a new town built to welcome the homeless after the war. Two fortification lines closed by powerful fortified gates encircled the town. Today Cordes is renowned for its luxurious residences and small town palaces built by prosperous merchants and noble families between 1280 and 1350. Gothic decorations can be found in the architecture and some façades are decorated with high relief sculptures.

Friday 27 August

Carcassonne and Limoux


Declared a Unesco world heritage site in 1998, the Cité de Carcassonne is a medieval walled town (5 th -13 th centuries) that played a decisive role in the history of Languedoc. The Count's Castle rises up in the centre of the city. It is a veritable fortress in the heart of the fortress, around which the houses and streets huddle surrounded by a first wall fortified with ramparts.


France's oldest sparkling wine has a light, fruity flavor, which has been compared to green apples and cider, and a pleasing bouquet. Blanquette de Limoux must contain at least 80 percent of its primary grape, Mauzac. Other grapes included in the mix are Clairette, Chenin Blanc, and Chardonnay. The visit includes a guided tour of wine storehouses and tasting of Blanquette.


21-22 August

Conques and the Millau viaduct


In the beautiful village of Conques, Saint Foy abbey-church is a perfect example of the churches of pilgrimage roads to Santiago de Compostela, built in order to welcome the pilgrims. In 1987, Pierre Soulages, a French abstract painter born in 1919 in Rodez, whose childhood memories have been impregnated by this place, began to work enthusiastically over a plan for creating stained-glass windows for the church. In 1994, he completed the achievement of 95 windows and 9 loopholes that respect and magnify the romanesque austerity and its symbols and beckon light to enter the church.


The Millau viaduct

242,000 tonnes in total, of which 36,000 tonnes are steel, 343 metres: the height of the higher pillar, 2,460 metres : the total length of the deck.

The search for an aesthetic construction led to the adoption of a multi-stayed viaduct, consisting of slender soaring pillars and a very light deck, just touching the valley at only seven points. Once put into service in January 2005, the Millau Viaduct, the most direct route between Paris and the Mediterranean sea, will be the highest bridge in the world.



The cellars of Roquefort form an underground maze, created by the collapse of Mount Combalou. In the huge vaulted cellars, naturally ventilated through fissures in the rock, row upon row of truckles of cheese lie slowly maturating between the months of January and July, tended with loving care by the "Maître-Affineur".

27-28 August

The Lot countryside


Rocamadour is built into the southern cliff-face of a 120m-deep canyon, at the bottom of which runs the river Alzou. The site was one of the most important pilgrimage centres of the Middle Ages, where many pilgrims, including kings and powerful leaders, came to pay penance.
Taste a goat's milk cheese in a « Rocamadour » farm.


Figeac and the Lot Valley

The rich medieval past of Figeac is evident in the town's fine architecture and narrow alleyways. The Musée Champollion is dedicated to the work of the egyptologist, who was born in Figeac in 1790 and who first deciphered hieroglyphs on a basalt slab discovered in the Nile delta in 1799. Figeac is an excellent base from which to explore the delightful Lot valley with its vineyards and charming villages, such as Saint-Cirq-Lapopie.


27-28 August

Bordeaux and its vineyards


Unesco classified the winegrowing region of Saint-Emilion as a world heritage site. Combining beautiful architecture and landscape, the site is indeed exceptional. Initiatory trip in the universe of Bordeaux wines and visit of a Grand Cru Classé , a famous Saint-Emilion chateau, with a wine tasting session.

Bordeaux and Roquetaillade Castle

Situated at the mouth of the Garonne river.
First Capital of the Dukedom of Aquitaine, Bordeaux became an English harbour from the mid-12th century until the 14th century. There begins the story of Bordeaux wines. The town prospered in the 18th century thanks to trade in sugar cane and slaves with the French West Indies. After a tour of the town, visit of the Roquetaillade castle (12th century) and tasting of wine from the Château.


The Final Programme is online!

We are very proud to present an extremely attractive programme that offers more than six hundred presentations.
This very rich programme offers a large variety of opportunities. Attendees will be able to compose their own menu, by mixing on-the-edge research and state-of-the-practice results in their own field of expertise, together with surveys and prospective views in other domains of interest.
The overall schedule of sessions and the social events have been designed to facilitate fruitful interactions between attendees.

Join us during a week and share l'esprit de Toulouse !

         Jean Claude Laprie

> Final Programme
    Download the pdf version
> Registration fee information
    Download the Registration     fees
> Partnership file
   Download the pdf version


> Posters presenting WCC 2004
   will be sent on request .
   We rely on you to ensure a    large publicity to WCC 2004.